Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Due to a global outage with a service provider CrowdStrike and Microsoft, some of SouthStar Bank’s online services may be unavailable or experience latency. This outage does not affect the confidentiality or integrity of our customer data. We are working with our vendors to resolve the issue as soon as possible and appreciate your understanding.

To learn more about our mobile app, online banking, and more, watch our video tutorials.

Employee Awards & Anniversaries 2023

Employee Awards & Anniversaries 2023


The Ride for the Brand award recognizes those individuals who have gone above and beyond to uphold the SouthStar Bank brand. In the cowboy days, when you worked for a big ranch or participated in a trail drive, the cowboy was loyal to the Brand he “rode for.”  Guys that rode for the brand had deep connections representing the ranch that transcended their daily work.  To strengthen our culture, we continue to need employees that are a good example of this type of steadfast loyalty and who support our mission, vision, and values.

  • Loan Officer- Jeff Harris
  • Operations- Kyla Gesell
  • Support Operations- Keely McCarthy
  • Support Lending- Laura Desselle
  • Mortgage Support- Taryn Vandenberg
  • Internal Operations- Karen Mode


The Star Leader award is a special award given to applaud and promote the work and contributions of our most senior team. These individuals articulate a compelling vision for the institution and have inspired others to that vision. They actively support all aspects of our Bank’s advancement and show the highest commitment to professional growth. Recipients deserve exceptional notice and praise.

  • Steffani Scarborough
  • Trey Bertelson
Star Leader Collage


We also wanted to recognize a few individuals who have stepped up in their leadership roles. On a cattle drive, Trail Boss is the one in charge of the entire operation – keeping track of all the different elements of the drive, selecting routes, and making key decisions. Our Trail Boss awards go to those who have helped guide our teams, selected routes for new and expanded operations, and supported key initiatives to exceed expectations. We can all agree that this year brought many new challenges, and the executive team appreciates those who helped set the path for success.

  • Miguel De La Riva
  • Patty Barron
  • Carl Bozon
Trail Boss Collage


This prestigious recognition is awarded by the bank president, David Kapavik, to the individual he and the executive team feel has made the strongest contribution to the organization over the past year in each region. They review many aspects including performance, leadership, service, and related organizational benefits.

  • Urban North – Jesica Garza
  • Urban South – Mark Kelly
  • Rural North – Billy Fleming
  • Rural South – Robert Simper
President Collage


These individuals have been with the bank for less than two years, but have already made our star shine brighter. These emerging leaders were selected by the executive committee in each department because of their exceptional growth and contributions to the organization, as well as increased levels of leadership, responsibility, and sphere of impact.

  • Loan Officer- Ivan Garcia
  • Operations- Kerri Gonzales
  • Support Operations- Matthew Curren
  • Support Lending- Bryce Wyatt
  • Mortgage Support- Brittany Smith
Rising Collagev1


This award recognizes one individual who has embraced our partnership with Hilltop Securities. We look forward to the continued growth of this relationship and the benefits it provides for our clients.

  • Kacy Kirk
InveStar Kacy


This award recognizes one individual who has embraced our partnership with Merchant Services. We look forward to the continued growth of this relationship.

  • Kyla Gesell
MerchantServices Kyla


SouthStar Bank takes great pride in supporting our communities. The Community Involvement Award recognizes one recipient in each of our four regions for exemplifying the community bank spirit through active involvement in worthy causes and initiatives throughout the area.

  • Urban North – Shirley Sears
  • Urban South – Ivan Garcia
  • Rural North – Debra Morris
  • Rural South – Pam Browning
Community Collage


The Star Service Award recognizes one recipient in each of our four regions for service above and beyond the expected norm. Recipients consistently demonstrate exceptional knowledge of our products and services, as well as an intuitive understanding of our clients’ needs. Recipients consistently exemplify the SouthStar mantra of providing friendly, flexible common-sense financial services

  • Urban North – Davonica Rembert
  • Urban South – Riley Martine
  • Rural North – Roni Nickelson
  • Rural South – Dayton Mejias
Star Service Collage


25 YEARS: Pam Browning

20 YEARS: Betty Roznovsky

15 YEARS: Kristy Green, Deanna Ford, Debra Morris

10 YEARS: Dawn Embry, Tina Zan, Lindsey Morkovsky, Kimberly Watson, Mariela Tinajero, Lucia Fernandez, Sara Huggins, Mary Hall

5 YEARS: Amy Coldeway, Terry Thompson, Trey Bertelson, Tyler Narro, Pamela Barbeau, Jim Trungale, Sche Kehner

RIDE FOR THE BRAND NOMINEES: Amy Coldeway, Blake McNicoll, Dayton Mejias, Debra Morris, Felicia Hamilton, Greg Holub, Jeff Harris, Jennifer Bellavia, Karen Mode, Kay Lynn Rothbauer, Keely McCarthy, Kyla Gesell, Laura Desselle, Melissa Chavez, Miguel De La Riva, Patty Barron, Sam Bell, Taryn Vandenberg

STAR SERVICE NOMINEES: Aften Serrano, Amanda Aaron, Amber Gallagher, Amy Coldeway, Andrew Denny, Anthony Albino, Barbara Armstrong, Betty Roznovsky, Bill Staley, Blake McNicoll, Brandy Rumfolo, Brianna Tirado, Bryce Wyatt, Christine McGinnis, Davonica Rembert, Dawn Embry, Dayton Mejias, Deanna Ford, Debra Morris, Diane Romo, Dylan Wald, Faith Shrader, Ibrahim Madni, Jenny Currie, Jeremy Pauza, Jesica Garza, Jesse Miller, Jo Ann Biezenski, Jordan Collier, Julie Gamez, Kacy Kirk, Kali Gaskill, Karen Mode, Kathryn Davis, Kay Lynn Rothbauer, Kerri Gonzalez, Kimberly Moore, Kristin Ross, Kristy Hollis, Laura Desselle, Lauren Roznovsky, Linda Van Doren, Lindsey Morkovsky, Lucia Fernandez, Mariela Tinajero, Mark Kelly, Mary Hall, Matthew Curren, Matt Danielson, Meghan Rabel, Melissa Chavez, Melissa Greger, Melissa Swift, Melissa Thompson, Michael Hanna, Michelle Felde, Miguel De La Riva, Monica Leal, Patty Barron, Riley Martine, Roni Nickelson, Ryan Noyce, Samalia Huggins, Samantha Alexander, Sara Huggins, Sarah Ortega, Sche Kehner, Shelby Mossman, Steffani Scarborough, Terry Thompson, Torie Adkins, Trey Bertelson, Tyler Narro

COMMUNITY INVOLVEMENT NOMINEES: Aften Serrano, Amanda Aaron, Andrew Denny, Bill Staley, Brent Gibbs, Bryan Buck, Davonica Rembert, Debra Morris, Faith Shrader, Gary Mobbs, Ivan Garcia, Janet Raabe, Jeff Harris, Jesica Garza, Jesse Miller, Jo Ann Biezenski, Julie Gamez, Kacy Kirk, Kandice Bethke, Kerri Gonzalez, Kimberly Moore, Kimberly Watson, Kristy Hollis, Kyla Gesell, Laura Blackstock, Laura Desselle, Linda Martinez, Mariela Tinajero, Mary Kujawa, Melissa Gregor, Melissa Swift, Melissa Thompson, Michelle Felde, Miguel De La Riva, Pam Browning, Pam Barbeau, Roni Nickelson, Ryan Noyce, Samalia Huggins, Sara Huggins, Shelby Mossman, Shirley Sears, Tina Zan, Torie Adkins, Trey Bertelson

Congratulations to all award recipients and nominees!

Start typing and press Enter to search