Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Due to a global outage with a service provider CrowdStrike and Microsoft, some of SouthStar Bank’s online services may be unavailable or experience latency. This outage does not affect the confidentiality or integrity of our customer data. We are working with our vendors to resolve the issue as soon as possible and appreciate your understanding.

To learn more about our mobile app, online banking, and more, watch our video tutorials.

Employee Awards & Anniversaries 2020

Employee Awards & Anniversaries 2020


The ride for the brand award recognizes those individuals who have gone above and beyond to uphold the SouthStar Bank. In the cowboy days, when you worked for a big ranch or participated in a trail drive the cowboy was loyal to the Brand he “rode for.”  Guys that rode for the brand had deep connection representing the ranch that transcended their daily work.  To strengthen our culture, we continue to need employees that are a good example of this type of steadfast loyalty and who support our mission, vision and values.

The Star Leader award is a special award given to applaud and promote the work and contributions of our most senior team. These individuals articulate a compelling vision for the institution and to have inspired others to that vision. They actively support all aspects of our Bank’s advancement and show the highest commitment to professional growth. Recipients deserve exceptional notice and praise.

This year, we also wanted to recognize a few individuals who have stepped up in their leadership role. On a cattle drive, Trail Boss is the one in charge of the entire operation – keeping track of all the different elements of the drive, selecting routes, and making key decisions. Our Trail Boss awards go to those in who have helped guide our teams, selected routes for new and expanded operations, and supported key initiatives to exceed expectations. We can all agree that this year brought many new challenges, and I appreciate those who helped set the path for success.

  • Loan Officer – Amanda Aaron
  • Operations – Aften Serrano
  • Support Operations – Mariela Tinajero
  • Support Lending – Steffani Scarborough
  • Mortgage Support – Donna Stephenson
  • Star Leader- Bobby Simper
  • Trail Boss Award – Alexis Michael, Billy Fleming, Gary Mobbs, & Trey Bertelson


This prestigious recognition is awarded by the bank president, David Kapavik, to the individual he and the executive team feel has made the strongest contribution to the organization over the past year in each region. They review many aspects including performance, leadership, service, and related organizational benefits.

  • Urban North – Tina Zander
  • Urban South – Ryan Noyce
  • Rural North – Justen Salcido & Justin Kleiber
  • Rural South – Lindsey Morkovsky


New award! This award recognizes one individual who has embraced our partnership Hilltop Securities. We look forward to the continued growth of this relationship and the benefits it provides for our clients.

  • Pam Browning


SouthStar Bank takes great pride in supporting our communities. The Community Involvement Awards recognize one recipient in each of our four regions for exemplifying the community bank spirit through active involvement in worthy causes and initiatives throughout the area.

  • Urban North – Jesse Miller
  • Urban South – Jeanette Ramirez
  • Rural North – Melissa Greger
  • Rural South – Julie Gamez


The Star Service Awards recognize one recipient in each of our four regions for service above and beyond the expected norm. Recipients consistently demonstrate exceptional knowledge of our products and services, as well as an intuitive understanding of our clients’ needs. Recipients consistently exemplify the SouthStar mantra of providing friendly, flexible common-sense financial services

  • Urban North – Nathaniel Walls
  • Urban South – Melissa Swift
  • Rural North – Sarah Ortega
  • Rural South – Kay Lynn Rothbauer


45 YEARS: Gregory Hirsch & Jo Ann Biezenski

30 YEARS: Carla Meisetschleager

25 YEARS: David Kapavik, Donna Stephenson, Kevin Knesek, & Mary Kujawa

20 YEARS: Jenny Currie & Melissa Greger

15 YEARS: Laura Blackstock

5 YEARS: Amy Elliot, Bob Voorhies, Chelsey Carothers, Jesse Miller, Kacy Kirk, Mark Kelly, Samantha Alexander, & Sarah Ortega

Congratulations to all award recipients and nominees!

RIDE FOR THE BRAND NOMINEES: Aften Serrano, Amanda Aaron, Candace Barrett, Derek Kapavik, Donna Stephenson, Greg Vesely, Jeanette Ramirez, Kimberly Watson, Kristy Green, Linda Van Doren, Mariela Tinajero, Melissa Greger, Melissa Thompson, Monica Leal, Steffani Scarborough.

STAR SERVICE NOMINEES: Abel Sanchez, Adriana Alvara, Aften Serrano, Alexis Michael, Allen Strickland, Amanda Aaron, Amanda Thurber, Amy Elliott, Ben Ingram, Blake McNicoll, Bob Voorhies, Brent Gibbs, Bridget Robinson, Candace Barrett, Davonica France, Dawn Embry, Deanna Ford, Debra Morris, Erica Boller, Gabriel Anderssen, Janet Raabe, Jeanette Ramirez, Jeremy Bernal, Jenny Currie, Jesse Miller, Jo Ann Biezenski, John Varner, Julie Gamez, Justen Salcido, Justin Kleiber, JW Smith, Kacy Kirk, Kathern Allison, Kay Lynn Rothbauer, Kimberly Watson, Kristen Zander, Kristin ross, Kristy Hollis, Laura Pauza, Mark Kelly, Melissa Greger, Melissa Thompson, Melissa Swift, Monica Leal, Nathaniel Walls, Nolan Johnson, Pam Browning, Patsy Novosad, Patty Barron, Rhonda Robinson, Roni Nickelson, Ryan Noyce, Samalia Huggins, Samantha Alexander, Sarah Ortega, Shaye Kelley, Steffani Scarborough, Susan Forrest, Tina Zander, Trey Bertelson

COMMUNITY SERVICE NOMINEES: Abel Sanchez, Adriana Alvara, Aften Serrano, Alexis Michael, Allen Strickland, Amanda Aaron, Andrew Denny, Ben Ingram, Carla Meisetschleager, Davonica France, Deanna Ford, Elise Giles, Greg Vesely, Harold Copher Jr., Jeanette Ramirez, Jesse Miller, Jo Ann Biezenski, Julie Gamez, Justen Salcido, Justin Kleiber, JW Smith, Kacy Kirk, Kimberly Watson, Kristy Hollis, Laura Desselle, Lina Martinez, Lora Scasta, Melissa Greger, Melissa Swift, Mick Donohoe, Monica Leal, Pam Barbeau, Pam Browning, Rhonda Robinson, Ryan Noyce, Samalia Huggins, Sharon Green, Tabitha Griffin, Tamara Siegel, Tina Zander, Trey Bertelson

Share with

Start typing and press Enter to search